Innocent World 15th Anniversary Fashion Party

Hello dear readers! How are you? I’m sorry for the delay between this and my last post. Year-end is a very busy time!

ごきげんよう!サフィラです。お久しぶりです!

Today I’ll tell you about Innocent World’s 15th Anniversary Fashion Party that I attended. First, here’s my outfit:

今回はイノセントワールドのファッションパーティーのレポートです!最初は私のコーデです。

20131229-140034.jpg

I wore the Geraldine onepiece, Teddy Collection socks and carried the violin tote from the mook (all Innocent World). I could not find a navy bolero or blouse from Innocent World in time for the party, so instead I got this one from Metamorphose. Actually I really love it, it fits so well! Innocent World usually has pretty short sleeves for me unfortunately. I made my headdress, shoe clips and brooch with a Christmas theme. I braided my hair with silver ribbons to match!

ワンピー、靴下、ハンドバッグはぜんぶイノセント。ブラウズはメタモルフォーゼ。ヘッドドレス、シュークリップ、ブローチは手作り。

20131229-140346.jpg

I’m so in love with the mook and the  tote that came with it. I actually seldom use totes, but this one is really a handbag so it’s perfect! Since it’s canvas it will be especially nice for spring and summer. The mook is very interesting, with articles on Yumi Fujiwara’s personal collections including teacups and teddy bears- so lovely! There are two nice photoshoots, one  high fashion-looking and quite different from the usual Innocent World fare, and the other very natural, relaxed and cute, again quite different from how we usually see Innocent World presented and my personal favourite. I love to see girls looking happy and comfortable while wearing lolita!

イノセントのムックとトートが大好き!じつは、トートをあまり使ってないけど、このトートはハンドバッグらしいですから完璧です!

20131229-174010.jpg

Another interesting feature is the textile museum, which presented a selection of Innocent World prints etc catergorised by theme (etching, embroidery, animals etc). Since it has the year they were released, it’s particularly interesting to look back on the earlier works. Embroidery is not as common these days in lolita, but there are some lovely ones in the museum! Maybe it should be time for a comeback?

ムッくの中、テキスタイルミュージアムと藤原さんのインタービューはとても面白い。刺繍は懐かしいね….

20131229-174121.jpg

So, on to the tea party itself! It was held in an Italian restaurant in Shibuya. We were in the basement floor, which was made to look like a grotto, with a shallow pool and a rockery behind. We were asked not to take photos, and the light was so dim anyway it would have been a bit pointless. I’ll try my best to describe everything though!

ファッションパーティーは渋谷のイタリアレストランにありました。地下で洞穴みたいな部屋でした。

20131229-174110.jpgWe were given a program for the afternoon, and a box wrapped with floral paper in an Innocent World bag. The staff told us it was breakable, so be careful! I guessed then what it was, and I was right. We all took our seats which faced the pool. There were some VIP guests sitting in booths including Arika of Ali Project! It was then time for the first fashion show to begin. The models walked on the path around the pool and also posed on a somewhat rickety platform in the pool. It was a bit scary but they managed it very well! I was excited to see Machiko, I always like her pictures so much and I was delighted to find that she is really graceful and beautiful in real life. Although she often models gothic clothes I think she looks so charming in Innocent World!

プローグラムとプレゼントをいただきました。Ali ProjectのARIKAさんがいました!ファッションショーは二つありました。私の好きなモデル、街子さん、歩きました。とてもステキでした!イノセントは本当に街子さんに似合います。

20131229-174047.jpg

I can’t quite remember which clothes were in which show, but I think the Peter Rabbit collaboration was in the first show. Since I couldn’t take pictures I’ll show you pictures from KERA. Collaborations of this kind are seldom quite to my taste, but I did like the blue jacket, which is of course based on Peter’s blue jacket. I like this kind of subtle interpretation of a theme. But where is Mr MacGregor’s tam o’shanter??? It could be very lolita I think.

ファッションショーで新しい商品を見ました。Peter Rabbitのコラボのうす青いジャケット大好き!

20131229-174057.jpg

During a talk later, Ms Fujiwara said that while in design school she had a project to come up with her own shop, and so she decided to make a Peter Rabbit shop with clothes based on Peter Rabbit. All these years later, it really happened!

After the fashion show there was a talk given by an expert in antiques. She talked about Edwardian illustrators including Arthur Rackham and of course Beatrix Potter (a very interesting woman).  She showed us what I think were first editions of some Beatrix Potter stories and of Undine illustrated by Arthur Rackham. There were some reproduction Edwardian postcards and prints available to buy at the party. After the talk we had a little bit of free time for shopping etc (of course there were Innocent World items to buy). During this time I was able to talk a little bit to the designer! She remembered me from the KERA/Hyper Japan competiton when I won the chance to model for Innocent World on stage. She was so kind and friendly, I am afraid I was terribly nervous and awkward but I am really happy I met her.

先生はBeatrix Potterについてトークショーをしました。おもしろかった!ファッションショーとトークショーの後休憩がありました。あの時、少し藤原さんと話しました。私のことを思い出しました!本当にうれしかった!藤原さんやさしいですね。

20131229-174032.jpg

The second show featured this carousel print, it’s really lovely in real life, especially the beige colourway! There are two different versions, one with a plain and one with a printed bodice. I liked the plain version though it seemed on the short side!

二回目のファッションショーで、このステキなメリーゴーラウンドのプリントを見ました。ベージュのバージョンが大好きです!

20131229-174021.jpg

This very classical dress was also featured. I like it a lot! Simple but lovely. There were also some nice plain-cloured pieces in chiffon and lace, they look really pretty and dreamy. The last outfit was a wedding dress! It had sparkles all over and plenty of lace. For the finale, Radetzky March began to play and we all clapped along. The models and the designer walked out for the final time onto the rickety platform! It was a nice ending.

このクラシカルらしいジャンパースカートも大好きです。ラインがとてもエレガントですね。ファッションショーの最後のお洋服はウェディングドレスでした。キラキラのビーズときれいなレースいっぱいでした。いいフィナーレですね!

We had another talk show, this time with Ms Fujiwara. She answered some previously selected questions, about where she gets her inspiration from and so on. She said that she travels in Europe and takes photos to collect inspiration. Her hobby is playing piano, and her favourite series released this year is the Teddy Bear Collection. I was glad to be wearing something from that series! I think she said that the teddies are her own, and to make the print she put them in different poses and photographed them.

We also had a quiz about Innocent World. We all stood up and when we got a question wrong, we sat down. I got quite close to winning, but failed the skirt length question. Finally there were four girls standing, and they kept going for the same answers! It seemed it would never end. Finally it did and the winner was given a prize. She kept apologizing for getting some questions wrong, it was very sweet! There were also raffle prizes chosen by ticket number. Those whose numbers where drawn could get prizes selected by models Yui and Yura!

It was a nice event and very packed with things to watch. It might have been nice to have had some food and some mingling time, but the fashion shows and talks were really well done and the quiz and prizes were good fun.

Finally I’ll reveal the present that was given to all that attended:

ジャジャーン!ステキなプレゼントはTeddy Bear Collectionのマッグカップです。可愛い!毎朝の紅茶を飲みながら、すばらしいファッションパーティーを思い出すことができますね。うれしい!

20131229-140012.jpg

It’s a Teddy Collection mug! I really love it. I’m super happy I could attend this event and now I’ll remember this happy day every morning when I make tea!

Hope you enjoyed this post. Thanks for reading and see you again soon.

Sapphira

ブログを読んでいただきありがとうございました!

サフィラより。

10 thoughts on “Innocent World 15th Anniversary Fashion Party

  1. I love those tights on you! The print is so clear! My tights’s prints are never very clear, maybe i just stretch them out too much. They really look nice with the solid blue op and the mook bag ties everything together!
    Seems like such an amazing event! I would love to go to something like that but because i cannot speak japanese maybe it seems like i couldn’t? I love the mug too, its really considerate of them to have given everyone something!

    • Yes, the print is very vivid! It’s nice thick stocking material 🙂

      I guess the talk shows and quiz would be boring if you could not understand well (I couldn’t understand everything but just enough to get by) but anyone could enjoy the fashion shows!

      I’m super happy with the mug, it’s nice to have a special souvenir.

    • Thank you very much! It was a bit of a shame I couldn’t take an outfit shot at the event. I heard that they cannot sell the Peter Rabbit items abroad because the licence is Japan only 😦

  2. What a lovely outfit! I especially love the ribbons in your braids, it’s such a cute look. I’ll have to try that out sometime. The party sounds amazing!

    • Thank you very much! It was hard to decide whether to get the brown or beige version of the socks (they’re actually over the knee socks rather than tights, but made of tights material) but I think I made the right decision in the end.

Leave a Reply

