Hina Matsuri

Hello dear readers! How are you?

ごきげんよう!サフィラです.

Today (3/3) is Hina Matsuri. This is a festival for girls, and it is celebrated by displaying traditional dolls and having a party at home.

今日はおひな祭りですね。土曜日三井家のおひなさまの展覧会を見ました。とてもステキでした!

I don’t have any dolls here myself, but I wanted to celebrate! So on Saturday I went to an appropriate exhibition, ‘Hina Dolls of the Mistui Family’.

20140303-123936.jpg

This is the family that founded the famous Mitsukoshi department store, and the museum is located next to the historical Mitsukoshi building. It was quite a big exhibition and encompassed different types of dolls including the curious-looking ones shown here on the poster, which are meant to be floated down a river. Since photography was not allowed, I will include pictures from the flyer.

展覧会で、色々なお人形さんがいました。可愛いお人形、本物そっくりなお人形、面白いお人形、きれいなお人形....

20140303-123953.jpg

There were a lot of Emperor and Empress dolls, some a bit more simplistic and some very detailed and lifelike. It was very interesting seeing them from the back. Usually they are displayed on a tiered platform and we can only see the front. Looking at them from the back, you can almost imagine they are alive… In the middle of the picture you can see a procession of funny fat little men, and there were plently of these amusing sort of figures too.

この展示会で、おひな様の後姿を見ることが出来ます。それはめずらしいですね。

20140303-123922.jpg

There were a couple of examples of these type of dolls, though I am afraid I have forgotten the name. They are Showa era anyway, and so large as to be almost life-sized. They are very prettily and sensitively made and you could almost believe they were real children. Everything was lovely, but what I enjoyed most was looking at the little doll sized pieces of furniture, crockery etc. Somehow they’re even nicer to see than the dolls. In fact, in my own dolls house (which I’ll show you someday, maybe later this year when I make a trip back home) there are no dolls, only furniture, ornaments, food and so on. I really love arranging them and rearranging them!

この昭和時代のお人形さんは本物の子供みたいですね。きれいだとおもいます。でも、多分私はお人形さんよりお人形さんの道具が好きです!イギリスの実家には人形の家がありますが、その家の中にはお人形さんがいませんけど家具、道具、食べ物がいっぱいあります!いつか写真を見せます。

20140303-124059.jpg

And here is a Sapphira Doll! On this day I decided to try Old School Lolita. I bought this Meta headdress in 2010 because I recognised it as being from a very early series. However, this is the first time I’ve worn it since I’ve only just got items to wear with it. The white Moi-meme-Moitie set-up is the one that belonged to Alice Kobayashi and again it’s the first time I’ve made a coordinate with it. I love it so much! It has some boning in it, not enough to squeeze you in as you can see but enough to make you stand up straight which was good for museum-visiting. The blouse is also Meta and the necklace is a BPN one I got very cheaply from Closet Child. The bag is Baby and my shoes and tights are offbrand.

こちらはさふぃらドールでございます。この日のコーデのテーマはトラディショナルロリータです。このメタモルフォーゼのヘッドドレスは4年前買いました.今日初めてかぶりました。モワティエのビスチェとスカートは小林愛梨穂さんのモワティエ時代の物です。私の宝です!ブラウズもメタモルフォーゼのです、鞄はベイビー、ネックレスはブラックピースナウ。

Somehow things came together nicely in this coordinate, even though the headdress, necklace and setup were all things bought on a whim at different times. I was surprised how much I liked the look of the headdress, and maybe I might start wearing them more often. Interestingly we tend to think of old school as something of an archaic curiousity in Western communities, but it seems alive and well here. Not that everyone still looks like it’s 2001, but I still see girls in solid blackxwhite or pinkxwhite plus headdress coordinates walking around who look like experienced lolitas, alongside the girls in prints and headbows. I don’t imagine we would see that at a non-Japanese meetup. It’s just my impression however so I wonder how correct it is….

海外でトラディショナルロリータはあまり人気がありません。ヘッドドレスをかぶることは珍しいです.カチューシャや帽子の方が多いです。日本のロリータちゃんはヘッドドレスまだ好きだと思います.正しい考えでしょうか?

20140303-124019.jpg

Back to Hina Matsuri, one of the traditional foods for this festival is chirashizushi. The museum cafe was serving something very similar to chirashizushi, so I decided to eat there. It’s a very nice cafe, surprisingly reasonable and uncrowded, and very tasty. If you go, I recommend it! My lunch set even came with a small dessert of shirotama.

ひな祭りのお話しに戻りますが、美術館のカフェでちらし寿司みたいなごはんを食べました.とても美味しかったです!

20140303-191748.jpg

After lunch, I went to check out Mitsukoshi. This is the original one (or the most original one standing in Tokyo I suppose). It is very grand in appearance, built in the American Classical style and somewhat similar to Selfridges in London. The inside is grand and a little aged. There is a very impressive carving of the Spirit of Hospitality which is several stories high. There is also a lot of original architecture left and for some reason a Wurltizer pipe organ. It had an atmosphere which I was surprised to find in Tokyo, which is of a very ordinary and somewhat geriatric English country town department store (eg BHS). I admit I quite liked it! It was very restful.

昼ごはんの後、三越に行きました.きれいな建物です。この巨大な彫刻を見て、私はびっくりした!でも、人が少なかったです。イギリスの田舎のデパートみたいな雰囲気がありました。静かですね!

Hina Dolls of the Mitsui Family is at the Mitsui Memorial Museum until the 6th of April. The entrance fee for adults is 1000yen, and the nearest station is Mitsukoshimae (Ginza line). It is closed on Mondays. Please check the museum site here:

http://www.mitsui-museum.jp/english/english.html

三井家のおひなさまは三井記念美術館にあります。4月6日までです。駅は三越前(銀座線)。

Would you like to see this exhibition? What’s your view on old school lolita?

Thanks for reading and see you again soon,

Sapphira

ブログを読んでいただきありがとうございました。

サフィラより

5 thoughts on “Hina Matsuri

  1. It is so nice to see other foreigners celebrating it! We have a tiny set of dolls placed at home for Mari due to it being Hina matsuri. We are not having a party (that i know of) but this is our way to celebrating it in some way.
    You look lovely, this sort of old style lolita look suits you perfectly.
    The shopping mall looks imponent! I never heard of it before so thank you for showing it to us. ❤

    • Thank you! I’m so glad I finally got an outfit together with it.

      That Mitsukoshi is worth a look I think, and I read later that someone comes in to play the pipe organ everyday! Maybe you can catch a performance.

  2. The exibition seem really interesting! The spirit of ospitality carving is really impressive and I kind of envy your ikura chirashi, it looks so yummy!
    I’m not into headdresses so much, even if in the right outfit (like yours) they fit well. But I love blue and white and the combination of your blouse, white set-up, tights and shoes is a true winner *W*

Leave a Reply

