Koenji Surprise Street Performance Day

Hello dear readers! How are you?

ごきげんよう!サフィラです。

A few weeks ago there was an event in the area of Tokyo where I live. Koenji is famous for it’s second-hand shops, live houses and quirky atmosphere. This event was certainly quirky! There were street performers wandering about and doing their various shows. As I approached the Look shopping street I saw a scary monster, and I heard “Don’t be Cruel” playing somewhere close by. As I waited at the crossing a giant Elvis appeared!

最近高円寺で面白いイベントがありました。高円寺びっくり大道芸でした!怖い化け物と大きなエルビス様がいました!

20140430-180705.jpg

He was actually my favourite performer that I met that day. As I continued to walk I met more performers, a lot of them on stilts and all with a pretty scary image! Elvis was the tamest and friendliest so I liked him best. Here’s my outfit:

実は大きなエルビス様が一番好きでした!大道芸人はほとんど怖かったです。

20140430-180730.jpg

I wore Blooming Snow White! I love this dress so much recently and I wear it a lot. It doesn’t really look like a lolita dress on me, but I don’t mind. I just won’t think of it as one!

あの日のコーデでございます。ブルーミングスノーホワイトです!最近このジャンパースカートが大好きです。

20140430-180801.jpg

As I said, the performers were scary rather than jolly, and most of them just stalked about on stilts and didn’t really say anything (which added to the trippy experience I suppose), but this kappa fellow chased me! His costume was really cool, but oh dear, I was frightened. His horrid claws scraped my neck as I escaped! He was super popular.

一番かっこいいと一番怖い大道芸人はカッパでした!カッパさんに追いかけられました!

20140430-180918.jpg

Koenji’s liveliest hours are pretty short, from about 1pm to 4pm. There are no shops open before 12pm except for convenience stores, so please bear that in mind if you visit. When it got quieter I stopped for tea at my favourite cafe, Nanatsumori. They change their menu often and today I had a sakura rare cheescake. It kind of looks like purin! It was really nice, refreshing and not too sweet.

その後私は疲れましたので、大好きなカフェ「七つ森」でお茶をしました。桜レアーチーズケーキにしました。さわやかな味で美味しかったです。

20140430-180818.jpg

I also took a picture with this cat thing that always seems to be around:

猫達と一緒に写真をとりました。

20140430-180837.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the pictures, and I hope you can come and visit Koenji sometime!

いつか高円寺に遊びに来て下さいね!

See you again soon,

Sapphira

ブログを読んでいただきありがとうございました。

サフィラより

 

5 thoughts on “Koenji Surprise Street Performance Day

Leave a Reply

