Lolicate

Hello dear readers! How are you?

ごきげんよう!サフィラです。

Today I’m going to tell you about a new lolita magazine that has come out recently, a project that I have had the good fortune to be a small part of.

最近新しいロリータ雑誌に出ました。ロリケィトです!

The name of the magazine is Lolicate, and some very important and popular figures in the lolita scene have been the ones to create it, namely Arika Takarano of Ali Project, Mariko Suzuki (former editor of Gothic and Lolita Bible) and Kaie Tada (Triple Fortune designer and Brilliant Kingdom costume designer and performer).

ロリケイトのスタフは、鈴木真理子さん、宝野アリカさん、タダカイエさん。

I was asked to participate in a photoshoot for the magazine. I was so excited! When I got to the shoot, I was even more excited (and rather nervous) when I saw the models I would be working with. Gabrielle, ROOT, Midori, Misako and a very cute girl called Nami Kurama, who is an illustrator. Here’s a peek of our published photo in Lolicate:

この撮影で、素敵なモデルさんたちがいましたので、ドキドキしました!でもとても嬉しいです。

IMG_5582.JPG

If you’re still waiting for your copy, I don’t want to give too much away, but Lolicate is really different from GLB or KERA. Rather than being packed with lots of different articles, sometimes several to a page with a lot of small photos, Lolicate is more like a cross between a magazine and a coffe table book. I was surprised by the size, it’s a fair bit bigger than magazines usually are so you can really appreciate the pictures, which are the main focus as there’s little text. There are several stories along with some one-off shots, and some really interesting and experimental images. One of my favourites was this shoot with U Kimura combining illustration and photgraphy.

ロリケィトはとても特別な雑誌です。サイズが大きいし、華やかな写真があるし、新しいモデルが出るし、とても素敵だと思います。

IMG_5581.JPG

There’s also this dreamy shoot (blurred because you should go and get the magazine if you want to see it!)

写真は言葉より多いです。写真は色々があります、たとえばガーリー、スチームパンク、ゴージャスなど。

IMG_5580.JPG

There are also some great pictures of Arika Takarano dressed by Kaie and new models are introduced alongside our usual favourite faces.

もちろん宝野アリカさんの写真は本当にきれいです!

Lolita fashion has been around a long time but it is still developing and expanding. I’m really happy to see a new magazine come out and I am so delighted to be in it. You can buy it from Grimoire, Syrup, and online from Amazon. But please hurry because there aren’t many copies now!

渋谷の古着屋さん「グリモワール・アルマデル」, 渋谷のお店「シロップ」さん, 加えてAmazonで買えます。

Thank you for reading and see you again soon!

Sapphira

ブログを読んでいただきありがとうございました。

サフィラより

Lolicate」HP  http://www.lolicate.com

「Lolicate」Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/lolicate

「Lolicate」Twitter  @Lolicate_STAFF

5 thoughts on “Lolicate

  1. I recently showed someone a heavy, matte and somehow zen american magazine and that person told me that in Japan these could be found frequently, even if lolita customers are used to the cluttered ones. So… this one is tempting! I giving it a go after reading your post.

  2. I have to look this one up – it looks so polished and gorgeous, well done for being involved with it – you look stunning 🙂

    Ah, I wish I could do the graphic design of a magazine like this… ah, dreams ^_^;

  3. I’m a huge fan of these high quality and picture oriented matte magazines/ coffee table books in general, but I’m especially excited about this one because it involves Lolita! It looks very lovely and I totally need to grab myself a copy in the future.

    You look so pretty, by the way! Great job!

Leave a Reply

